Submit

Submit to Poéfrika: Although this blog says it is dedicated to African and Afro-centric poetry, and it is true, don't listen to it. If a poem is neither African nor Afro-centric but is about life, love, friendship, the struggle, human attributes, about a pencil or a sock, then the only determining factor will be how well the poem puts its point across.

I would like to encourage Africans of all shades and colours, anyone who has a reason to call themselves an African, to submit. The diaspora (our permanent expatriates). The young, a lot of whom I meet every time I go home and get burned by their efforts which find no outlets. This medium is for them, too. The same criteria apply to all submissions.

+ Please send your submission(s) to: retjoun, (it's a gmail dot com account)
+ Send three to five poems in Word® or PDF® format.
+ In the subject line please use: "Your full name / n° of poems / dd-mm-yyyy"
+ Give us a few weeks to consider your work before we can respond.
+ For young poets from southern Africa, we may ask if we can enter into a dialogue with the poet.
+ Send work in English, French, Sesotho or Setswana.



Submit elsewhere: That said, here are other places where you may submit your work (almost all of them have nothing to do with Poéfrika). This is a growing list, so please do suggest other outlets for poetry that may be added to it.

In Africa
+ Africa Poetry Magazine (http://waxpoetryart.com/africa/submissions.html)
+ A.L.M. (http://africanliterarymagazines.singlestory.org/category/submission-calls)
+ Aerodrome (http://thisisaerodrome.com/submissions/)
+ African Poetry Book Fund (https://africanpoetrybookfund.submittable.com/submit)
+ African Writer (https://www.africanwriter.com/submissions/)
+ Babishai Niwe Poetry Foundation (http://babishainiwe.com/submissions/)
+ Badilisha (http://badilishapoetry.com/submit/)
+ Bakwa Magazine (https://bakwamagazine.com/2011/11/01/submissions/)
+ Brunel International African Poetry Prize (http://www.africanpoetryprize.org/rules)
+ Enkare (http://enkare.org/submissions/)
+ New Coin (https://www.facebook.com/NewCoinPoetry/)
+ New Contrast (http://www.newcontrast.net/submit/)
+ Pambazuka (https://www.pambazuka.org/node/add/article-submissions)
+ Prufrock (http://www.prufrock.co.za/submit/)
+ Stanzas (http://www.afsun.co.za/stanzas/)
+ The Kalahari Review (https://kalaharireview.com/tagged/poetry)
+ The Johannesburg Review of Books (submissions@johannesburgreviewofbooks.com)
+ Type/Cast (http://typecast.org.za/submissions/)
+ Brittle Paper (https://brittlepaper.com/submissions/)



Outside Africa
+ 32 Poems (http://32poems.com/submission-guidelines/)
+ Able Muse (https://www.ablemuse.com/submit)
+ Asymptote (https://www.asymptotejournal.com/)
+ Canopic Jar (http://canopicjar.com/suites/)
+ Cave Canem (http://cavecanempoets.org/prizes/cave-canem-poetry-prize/)
+ Connotation (https://www.connotationpress.com/submit-guidelines-a-send)
+ Kettle Blue Review (https://www.kettlebluereview.com/guidelines)
+ Maple Tree Literary Supplement (http://www.mtls.ca/issue22/submissions/)
+ The Opiate (https://theopiatemagazine.com/submit/)
+ Poetry London (http://poetrylondon.co.uk/submissions/)
+ Tears in the Fence (https://tearsinthefence.com/how-to-submit/)
+ Those That This (https://thosethatthis.com/submissions/)
+ Prairie Schooner Book Prize (http://prairieschooner.unl.edu/book-prize)



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...